TRAITORS: Full List of Republicans Who Voted Against Trump’s Budget Bill

On Thursday, the House voted on the Senate budget proposal and it barely passed. To no surprise, all of the Democrats voted against the bill, however 20 Republicans shook the hill by voting against it as well.

The bill barely made it through (216-212), but still a victory for President Donald Trump. Republicans celebrated the budget passing, including the President, who took to Twitter to rejoice.

Here’s the list of the 20 Republican representatives that voted “no.”

Justin Amash of Michigan
Ken Buck of Colorado
Dan Donovan of New York
John Duncan of Tennessee
John Faso of New York
Brian Fitzpatrick of Pennsylvania
Matt Gaetz of Florida
Lynn Jenkins of Kansas
Walter B. Jones of North Carolina
John Katko of New York
Pete King of New York
Leonard Lance of New Jersey
Frank Lobiondo of New Jersey
Tom MacArthur of New Jersey
Thomas Massie of Kentucky
Mark Sanford of South Carolina
Chris Smith of New Jersey
Elise Stefanik of New York
Claudia Tenney of New York
Lee Zeldin of New York

This bill will allow the Senate to use budget reconciliation to push tax reform. With budget reconciliation, a bill only needs a majority to pass the Senate. Republicans hold 52 seats.

With the number of Republicans that voted against the budget bill however, getting a majority might not be as easy as it sounds.

The current tax reform framework calls for nixing SALT deductions, a tax break used by nearly one-third of filers. Cutting the deduction would help Republicans raise more than a trillion dollars to help pay for tax cuts over 10 years, making it a huge source of revenue for their overall plan to reform the tax code, as reported by CNN.

Hopefully, Republicans will now be able to actually get behind tax reform and move forward. This is something that needs to be done by the end of the year.


Leave a Reply